Howard P. Rawlings Educational Assistance Grant

Like the GA Grant, the Rawlings Educational Assistance (EA) Grant is also a need-based award but less generous than the GA — the minimum annual award amount is $400 and the maximum award is $3,000.

All applicants are ranked by Expected Family Contribution (EFC), based on information reported on the FAFSA. Students with the lowest EFC are awarded first.

The actual amount is determined by a set formula reflecting the cost of college attendance, EFC, state scholarships awarded and Pell Grant funding received.


Who is eligible for Rawlings Educational Assistance Grant? #

  1. Be a Maryland resident and U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen
  2. Have a high school diploma or GED
  3. Must be classified as an undergraduate student
  4. Must enroll full-time at a two-year or four-year Maryland college or university (12+ credits per semester)
  5. Must demonstrate financial need as determined by the FAFSA

How do I apply for Rawlings Educational Assistance Grant? #

To be considered for a Educational Access Grant, you must complete and file the FAFSA no later than April 1 or by March 1 for priority consideration.

If you’re ineligible for federal aid, you must file the Maryland State Financial Aid Application (MSFAA). To complete the MSFAA online click here.

Share this article