California Paid Family Leave

Updated July 2, 2019

California leads the nation as the first to provide paid leave benefits for employees who need to “take time off” to care for a newborn or for sick family members.1

Under California’s Paid Family Leave, eligible employees may take up to six (6) weeks of paid leave to be with their families, which increases to 8 weeks in 2020.2

Benefit payments are issued to an EDD Debit CardSM that can be used everywhere Visa® debit cards are accepted or by check sent through the mail.3


FAQ

  • How much do you get for paid family leave in California?

    The weekly benefits range from $50 to a maximum of $1,252, but usually no more than 70% of their weekly earnings, for up to 6 weeks within any 12-month period.

    The seven-day waiting period no longer applies, so benefits can begin with the first day off work.

  • Is CA PFL job protected?

    No, the CA Paid Family Leave program does not provide job protection, just paid benefits. However, other state and federal laws may apply while you are using your leave.

    For example, the New Parent Leave Act (NPLA) provides eligible employees 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to bond with a new child within one year of the child’s birth, adoption, or foster care placement.4

  • Do fathers get paid family leave in California?

    No. The Family & Medical Leave Act (FMLA) only requires most employers to offer fathers at least 12 weeks of unpaid, job protected leave. Employers do not have to offer paid paternity leave under federal law.5

To apply for benefits, you must complete and submit your claim within 41 days from the date your family leave begins, either in person or use SDI Online instead of submitting the paper form by mail.

Learn how to file a PFL claim through SDI Online.

To file a PFL claim by mail, you must complete a Claim for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits (DE 2501F) form and submit it to the EDD with all required documentation.

For additional information, please call
Employment Development Department (EDD)
1-877-238-4373

References
  1. A medical certificate is required when a claim is filed to provide care for a seriously ill family member.
  2. Lexology, California Extends Paid Family Leave Benefits from 6 to 8 Weeks
  3. The EDD debit card in California is used to issue Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL).
  4. Disability Secrets, Maternity Leave and Paid Time Off for Pregnancy in California.
  5. These 6 California Laws allow you to take time to nurture your child.
Advertisement