North Dakota SNAP

SNAP helps low-income people and families in North Dakota with cash assistance to buy the food they need for a nutritionally adequate diet.

Benefits may vary depending on a variety of factors, including the household’s size and income. In North Dakota, the average monthly SNAP benefit is about $413 for a family of three with no income.

Eligible households are issued a “North Dakota EBT Card” that can be used to make food purchases at at one of the 231,000 authorized retail locations around the country, 500 in North Dakota.


In order to qualify for SNAP, you must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  1. Live in North Dakota
  2. Be a US Citizen or a lawful permanent resident
  3. Show proof of identity
  4. Meet certain income guidelines
  5. Have less than $2,250 in resources

To help determine whether you might qualify for SNAP benefits, use this calculator and answer a few prescreening questions.

In North Dakota, there is no limit to the length of time you can receive SNAP benefits. Time limits and requirements for other assistance programs such as TANF do not apply to the receipt of SNAP.

However, ABAWDs must comply with special work rules or they will be subject to a three-month time limit on SNAP receipt.


What is the income limit for food stamps in North Dakota? #


Most families in North Dakota with gross income up to 130% of the federal poverty level, about $2,380 a month for a family of three, qualify for food stamps.

How to apply for food stamps in North Dakota? #


To apply for SNAP, complete the Application for Assistance and/or contact the local Human Service Zone Office in the county in which you reside.

If you’re eligible, benefits will be available within 30 days from the date of your application. In some emergency cases, you may get benefits in seven days or less.

Can I use my North Dakota EBT card in another state? #


Yes. SNAP benefits are interoperable through the use of your EBT card which means you can use it wherever EBT is accepted anywhere in the United States including the District of Columbia, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands.